Catalog

Record Details

Search Results

Catalog Search

Search Results

Additional search filters and navigation

Maria, Maria : and other stories Book
Book | Liveright Publishing Corporation, New York, N.Y. : [2022]

  • 1 of 1 Copy Available at Libraries in Niagara Cooperative
  • 0 current holds with 1 total copy.
Place Hold
Branch Call Number Location Holdable? Status
Grimsby Fic Rub Adult Fiction Copy hold / Volume hold Available
About

"For fans of Kali Fajardo-Anstine and Lesley Nneka Arimah, a darkly funny and imaginative debut conjuring tales of Mexican American mystics and misfits. "The first witch of the waters was born in Destruction. The moon named her Maria." From former PEN America Emerging Voices Fellow Marytza K. Rubio comes Maria, Maria, an inimitable collection set across the tropics and megacities of the Americas. Readers will be enticed and infuriated as characters negotiate with nature to cast their desired ends-such as the enigmatic community college professor in "Brujeria for Beginners'; the disturbingly faithful widow in "Tijuca"; and the lonely little girl in "Burial," who awakens a sabretooth tiger. Brimming with sharp wit and ferocious female intuition, the book bubbles over into a novella of fantastical proportions-a "tropigoth" family drama set in a reimagined California micro-rainforest about the legacies of three Marias, possibly all Marias. Writing in prose so lush it threatens to creep off the page, Rubio emerges as a bold voice new voice in contemporary short fiction"--
Details

  • ISBN: 9781324090540
  • Physical Description: 234 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
  • Publisher: New York, N.Y. : Liveright Publishing Corporation, [2022]

Additional Resources